The Canterbury Stakes results are impacted a by a broad range of factors. As a major Group 1 event, the race draws horses from far and wide, and as a result preparations can differ greatly. However, there are a few consistent aspects that all Canterbury Stakes winners have in common. They are all top quality horses, renowned in their own right. They have all experienced considerable success across 1300m (or similar distances) prior to jumping out in this race, and they all come into the event relatively near to peak fitness.

Taking into account these factors (and many more) can dramatically improve your chances of picking a winner in this elite Group 1 event. Solid analysis of the form guide is a must, because at this level, just about any horse in the field stands a good chance of taking home the trophy.

Throughout history, a swathe of talent has seen its name at the top of the Canterbury Stakes finishing order. Notable Canterbury Stakes winners include Amounis (1929), Chatham (1933), Shannon (1947), Star Realm (1955), Sky High (1961, 1962), Eskimo Prince (1964), Baguette (1971), Manikato (1982), Emancipation (1983), All Our Mob (1997), Shogun Lodge (2001) and More Joyous (2011, 2012).

Top three Canterbury Stakes results since 2000, along with winning times, are listed below.

Canterbury Stakes Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2017 Le Romain Chautauqua Hauraki 1:20.0
2016 Holler First Seal Kermadec 1:15.4
2015 Cosmic Endeavour Catkins Criterion 1:15.2
2014 Appearance Not Listenin’Tome Red Tracer 1:17.2
2013 Pierro More Joyous Solzhenitsyn 1:15.9
2012 More Joyous Monton Metal Bender 1:18.4
2011 More Joyous Love Conquers All Demerit 1:17.8
2010 Hot Danish Black Piranha Mr Baritone 1:16.4
2009 All Silent Forensics Royal Discretion 1:16.5
2008 Mentality Racing To Win Sniper’s Bullet 1:32.3
2007 Malcolm Cheeky Choice Kosi Bay 1:16.5
2006 Paratroopers Patezza Dance Hero 1:16.2
2005 Dance Hero Falkirk Ike’s Dream 1:17.0
2004 Yell Grand Armee True Glo 1:16.0
2003 Defier Cosmic Rays Gordo 1:09.1
2002 Empire Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge 1:10.3
2001 Shogun Lodge Assertive Lad El Mirada 1:10.0
2000 Easy Rocking Referral Guineas 1:11.5